Welcome to Atlantis

Future_city_04

Let’s talk about crystals.

Crystalline mineral structures are one of my favourite subjects to talk about. They are singularly weird and enigmatic natural constructs that have fascinated man-kind for thousands upon thousands of years. Crystals have historically been reserved for the elite few who could afford to splurge on their shiny-ness, adorning the crowns and ornaments of rulers long past. When accessible, they have been used for scrying and fortune-telling. In the Old Testament, the High Priest Aaron adorned his breastplate with twelve different jewels, including Urim and Thummim; the heavenly-sanctioned stones of divination. As a species, we have marvelled over these gleaming protrusions spied in the dirt for a long time, and it turns out that it wasn’t without good reason.

Has it ever occurred to you guys that nearly all the technology of the modern era only works because of crystals? You see, crystalline mineral structures have some unique physical properties concerning their energy conversion, piezoelectric charges and electron valences. As a result, certain crystals make excellent semiconductors.

So, we started building radio transistors out of them. These transistors would then be used in clocks, televisions, computer chips, and so on. In the modern age, chances are that when you buy something electronic it has a micro processor in it, and that micro processor is in turn made out of a crystalline silicon compound. Crystals have given us telephones, television, and the internet, inventions which would have been decried as witchcraft not 200 years earlier.

I’ll leave you all with this fascinating video on Quantum Trapping, my favourite experimental application of crystal technology. If you have never seen or heard of Quantum Trapping, watch this video now. It’ll blow your mind.

Welcome to Atlantis, my friends. 🙂

Also, I did a guest post on Tammy Salyer’s blog this week, about the innate spirituality of story-telling – The Importance of Spell Check. Check it out. #punintended

(Image credit to stomaster)

20 thoughts on “Welcome to Atlantis

  1. Great!! Now I have more questions about Quantum Trapping… Ugh… Well, that’s what I get for not paying close enough attention in physics. :). Thanks for teaching me something new, Ryan 🙂

    • Quantum Trapping’s pretty intriguing, I’ve had my interest piqued by it for awhile now. The technology could see futuristic high-speed hover cars becoming a reality. So awesome… My basic understanding is that the sub-temperature super conductor ‘trap’ some of the quantum particles at the core of the sapphire, so that it is suspended in space. It’s equivalent to suspending the infitessimal particles in some form of ‘spatial stasis’… Real science-fiction-made-real kinda stuff. Glad you enjoyed it Shannon! 🙂

      • I did very much, Ryan… now I’m intrigued as to why the sub temperatures trap the particle flow in “bars” but warm temperatures allow the flow to pass through the crystal,without holding stasis… and what do the Superconductor coating and plastic wrap contribute? I’m intrigued… 🙂

      • OK, so a super conductor is a material which has 0 electrical resistance at absolute zero. When it reaches this state and has an electrical current passing through it (I’m assuming that the sapphire is emitting a low-level piezoelectric charge to achieve this?), it expels the magnetic field moving over, around and through it. The details of the ‘trapping’ of the quantum particles are a bit fuzzy for me, but this is the gist of how it works in my understanding. Unless anyone has anything to add…? 🙂

  2. Absolutely fascinating! Just imagine if our transportation systems followed this model. We could start healing our planet and get off our “need” for oil. The technology is here we just need to find a way to implement it. Great post! Thank u:)

  3. It’s taken me a few days to get to this because I wanted to have time to watch the video, and, well, give me some self-lacing shoes and call me Marty McFly! That was freaking awesome! You said you would blow my mind and you didn’t disappoint! I have no brain for science. I have no clue how it works, but it looks like real-life magic.

    • That it does, Steph. First time I saw it, my mind went straight to hover boards too. Which reminds me, time to rewatch BttF2…

      Pretty cool stuff. Glad you enjoyed it! 🙂

  4. Pingback: An Award – and an apology… | She Said What?

  5. Pingback: eyE[am]Hannah – Time Dilation | eyE[before]E

  6. Wow! I’m moving a heavy freezer today – how I wish I had some super magnets and nitrogen! (already have the plastic wrap – – -but wait, is my freezer made from saphire? LOL)
    🙂

Leave a Reply

